- Adoption – The legal method by which an adult assumes the role of parent for a child who is not his or her biological offspring.
- Legally Clear Adoption – This option is for a family who is an agency-approved adoptive family. The child placed with them would be legally free, per North Carolina adoption laws, to move forward with adoption.
- Legal Risk Adoption – This is for a family who is a licensed foster home and an agency-approved adoptive family. The child placed with them has a court ruling that efforts to reunite the child with his/her birth parents can cease. The Resource Family commits to adopt the child when declared legally free for adoption, per North Carolina adoption laws.
- Foster – A family who provides temporary care for a child and is committed to working in partnership with the agency toward the birth family’s reunification until otherwise ordered by the court. If a child placed in the foster family becomes legally free for adoption, no relative has been court-approved for the child, and the foster family is interested in adopting, that family may ask to be considered for the adoption of the child.
- There is no fee to become a foster parent.
- Fees for adoption services may be charged. Fee scales and procedures for payment are shared as a part of the Information Meeting. Services are not denied on the basis of inability to pay fees. You may call us or email us for further information about our fee policy.
- CPR/FA certification is offered through the Agency if needed for licensure and costs between $15-30/person.
- Residency – Minimum of six months in North Carolina
- Age – Minimum of 21 years of age
- Satisfactory background inquiries
- Criminal and Civil Court record checks, including fingerprints/search by SBI Credit checks for financial security
- Children’s Protective Services history check
- Contact with personal references
- Successful completion of pre-service training
- Trauma Informed Partnering for Safety and Permanency: Model Approach to Partnership in Parenting (TIPS-MAPP), 36 hours
- Satisfactory environmental home inspections
- Fire Safety
- Safety and health hazards
- If applicable, well and septic tank standards
- Satisfactory physical and emotional health (indicating ability to care for and nurture children)
- High School Diploma or GED
- Make an Inquiry - Attend the next Information Meeting held the 2nd Tuesday of each month at the Family Services Center of Catawba County Social Services, beginning at 6:00 PM.
- Complete Initial Paperwork and Interview with Social Worker – Following the information meeting, complete the initial paperwork and show a copy of your photo ID. Then you can sign up for a one-on-one interview at the Family Services Center office with a social worker.
- Complete the Pre-Placement Assessment – The Pre-Placement Assessment is a written document prepared by your social worker following a series of family consultations.
- Complete TIPS-MAPP Training – This training class consists of 36 hours of preparation for adoptive and/or foster parents. These preparation sessions will help you identify your family's strengths and needs as well as provide the information you need to make decisions about what type of child(ren) you can parent.
- Complete the NC Foster Home Licensing Application – Your social worker will assist and guide you through this process.
- Wait for the call from your social worker for a placement – Once your home is licensed, your social worker will be diligent in finding placement of a child in your home that is a good match for your family. Placement is based on the child’s needs and your family’s strengthens and needs. If an adoptive family, there will be a plan to transition that child into your home, which starts with visits.
- Receive placement of a child(ren) – Your social worker will continue to assist, guide and provide training for you as you become accustomed to being a foster or adoptive parent.
- Work in partnership with the Agency
- Legalize the adoption in court – If an adoptive family, there is a supervisory period required law of three to six months before the adoption process can be completed.
The licensure process can take anywhere from 6-10 months depending upon the timeliness of tasks being completed, if there is a waiting list for adoptive families, and the availability of the MAPP class.
Yes, to adopt a child from the foster care system, our agency requires that adoptive families become licensed.
What are the benefits of the Trauma Information Partnering for Safety and Permanence: Model Approach to Partnerships in Parenting (TIPS-MAPP)?
This training class consists of 36 hours of preparation for adoptive and/or foster parents, including CPR/FA, Bloodborne Pathogens, and Medication Administration, which are required for licensure. These preparation sessions will help you identify your family's strengths and needs as well as provide the information you need to make decisions about what type of child(ren) you can parent.
Family Builders offers the MAPP training five to six times per year. We offer two schedule options for class: Monday/Thursday evening class that meets from 6:00-9:00 PM for six consecutive weeks or a Saturday class that meets from 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM for six consecutive weeks. A family in process will be enrolled into a MAPP class by their social worker. All the classes are held at the Family Services Center. Unfortunately, there is no childcare available for MAPP.
Yes, foster and adoptive parents must be able to provide transportation to assist with doctor appointments, visitation, therapy, school and other appointments.
Foster care is not seen as income, so you must have the ability to pay your bills and sustain your household and family.
Your doctor will need to provide documentation that you are able to provide for children and do not have a limited capacity to parent.
Yes, the majority of our foster parents work outside the home. If certain criteria are met, our agency can provide support for day care and before/after school care.
A foster placement can last anywhere from one day to up to two years depending on the case. Our agency partners fully with our families to support them before, during, and after a placement.
Yes, the state requires that each licensed parent receive 10 hours of continuing education training every year to maintain their license.
Licenses have to be renewed every 2 years in North Carolina.
Attend an information meeting to learn more and start the process.