COVID-19 Dashboard: English | Español

School Resource Officers

Each of the Middle Schools and High Schools in the Catawba County School System has a Deputy Sheriff assigned as a School Resource Officer with the exception of Maiden High and Maiden Middle which are served by Maiden Police Department.. We currently have five SRO's assigned to elementary schools within the the County School system. Each of these elementary SRO's are assigned three schools each that they rotate around presenting classes and programs. There are also three deputies assigned as School Resource Officers at Catawba Valley Community College, which includes Challenger High School.

The School Resource Officer program has been very successful. The students see the deputies as someone who they can befriend and go to for guidance. A positive relationship with a school resource officer has shown to have a positive affect on a child’s perception of safety at school. The one-on-one relationship between students and officers allows them to solve problems before those problems grow out of control.

In a research study conducted by Captain Fish in 2011, school administrators and resource officers both felt that deputies served as mentors or counselors foremost. Students felt that the deputies were more approachable, because they were in the halls and lunchroom with them. Students associated guidance counselors as part of the school administration, and they are not as likely to go to the office.

If you would like more information, or programs offered by the School Resource Officers, you may call SGT Jody Grindstaff or LT Eric Page at 828-465-8278.

The School Resource Officers are assigned as follows:


Bandys High School
Deputy Craig Sigmon
CraigSigmon@CatawbaCountyNC.gov
828-241-3171

Bunker Hill High School
Deputy Marcus Miller
mmiller@catawbacountync.gov
828-241-3355

Fred T Foard High School
Deputy Mark Dentel
MDentel@CatawbaCountyNC.gov
704-462-1496

Roaming K9 Officer
Deputy Jeremy Graham
jgraham@catawbacountync.gov
828-465-8278

St. Stephens High School
Deputy Dale Lail
dlail@catawbacountync.gov
828-256-9841

Catawba Rosenwald Education Center
Deputy Chad Eades
ceades@catawbacountync.gov
828-241-2734

H M Arndt middle School
Deputy Trent Davis
tdavis@catawbacountync.gov
828-256-9545

Jacobs Fork Middle School
Deputy Dillon Cansler
dcansler@catawbacountync.gov
704-462-1827


Riverbend Middle School
Deputy James Slape
jslape@catawbacountync.gov

828-241-2754


Mill Creek Middle School
Deputy David Fox
dlfox@catawbacountync.gov
828-241-2711

Elementary SRO
Banoak/Blackburn/Mt View
Deputy Joyce Cline
JCline@CatawbaCountyNC.gov

Elementary SRO
Campbell/Snow Creek/St Stephens

Deputy Taylor Stout
TStout@CatawbaCountyNC.gov

Elementary SRO
Maiden/Tuttle/Startown

Deputy Amber Morris
AMorris@CatawbaCountyNC.gov

Elementary SRO
Balls Creek/Sherrills Ford/Catawba

Deputy Brandie Trouille
BTrouille@CatawbaCountyNC.gov

Elementary SRO
Oxford/Claremont/Murray

Deputy Josh Robertson
jrobertson@catawbacountync.gov


Catawba Valley Community College
Deputy Chris Mills
cmills@catawbacountync.gov
828-327-7000 ext 4910

Deputy Shawn Goodnight
sgoodnight@catawbacountync.gov
828-327-7000 ext 4300

Sergeant Bryon Hollar
bhollar@catawbacountync.gov
828-327-7000 ext 4676