Catawba County News

State Emergency Assistance Funds Now Available

State Emergency Assistance Funds Now Available

Published: February 08, 2024

State emergency assistance funds have been made available for residents in Catawba, Alexander, Burke, Caldwell, Iredell and Lincoln counties affected by the Jan. 9 EF-1 tornado.

Through this assistance, state-funded grants are available to eligible individuals and families located within the emergency area who do not qualify for a disaster loan from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

Residents may begin the application process at the SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center located at Catawba County Emergency Services, 100 Government Drive, Newton, NC 28658. The Center will be open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Mondays-Fridays and 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturdays. The Center will be closed on Monday, Feb. 19 for Presidents Day but will reopen for a final day on Tuesday, Feb. 20 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Residents are encouraged to apply now and bring all the documentation they currently have from the following list, even if some of the required documentation is not yet available:

  • Proof of home/vehicle ownership, such as a deed, tax record or vehicle registration
  • Proof of residence, such as a utility bill or the front page of a bank statement
  • Proof of home/auto insurance, such as the declaration page
  • Copy of driver’s license or state ID
  • Copy of Social Security card
  • Two (2) estimates of physical damage (homeowners only)
  • Photos

State emergency assistance funds were authorized by a Type 1 state disaster declaration for individual assistance signed by Governor Roy Cooper Feb. 7. The disaster declaration expires 60 days after issuance.

See the Type 1 Disaster Declaration here.

See the news release from the Office of the Governor here.