Catawba County News

Commissioners Celebrate Completion of St. Stephens EMS Base

Commissioners Celebrate Completion of St. Stephens EMS Base

Published: April 25, 2024

Catawba County Commissioners Randy Isenhower, Barbara Beatty and Austin Allran celebrated the completion of the County’s newly-constructed St. Stephens EMS base, located at 4447 Section House Rd., with a ribbon cutting ceremony. The ceremony was attended by Catawba County EMS staff, construction partner Moss Marlow, and county staff.

The 4,248-square-foot building nearly doubles the size of the former St. Stephens base on Springs Rd., which served the community for more than 35 years. The new facility features four drive-through ambulance bays and a work space.

This is the second of three new standalone Catawba County EMS bases planned to replace outdated facilities and provide quicker entry and exit for County ambulances and emergency response vehicles. The County celebrated the opening of a new base in Newton in November 2022 and is currently developing plans for a new base off Lenoir-Rhyne Blvd. in Hickory.

Pictured L-R: Charles McKaraher, M.D.; EMS staff Brittany Presnell, Josh Davis, and Tiffany Getz; EMS Manager Sylvia Fisher; Emergency Services Director Bryan Blanton; County Manager Mary Furtado; Assistant County Manager Paul Murray; EMS staff Harlie Wilson and Jennifer Rice; Commissioner Austin Allran; Commissioner Randy Isenhower; EMS staff Andrew Wright and Nick Farthing; Commissioner Barbara Beatty; retired EMS staff Gary Reitzel; Austin Phipps of Moss Marlow; County construction staff Bryan Morales; and Tracey and Brandon Setzer of Moss Marlow.