Tim Huffman

IFORMATION TECHNOLOGY: Tim Huffman, Project Manager
Years worked with the County: 9+ years

Briefly describe your job. What do you do?
As IT Project Manager, I work with staff across the organization to identify, recommend and implement technology and process improvements that create effective and efficient business processes consistent with best practices. I manage the overall project and help guide other technology and internal services staff to ensure the most appropriate procurement of resources and products. This will include implementation of both off the shelf as well as customized applications, hardware, and devices. As such, I track, report, and communicate project plans, milestones and completion dates on an ongoing basis throughout the life of the project to the appropriate project stakeholders.

What is a typical workday like for you?
One of the best aspects of my role is the ever-changing environment of each project. As milestones are met, my day might revolve around ensuring that the steps are complete as described, but other days might simply be ensuring progress is being made. Other times, it’s just making sure progress is being made. There are days when a project is pulling you along, and you simply try to hang on, and others where you have to get behind it and push it across the finish line.

What is your favorite aspect of your job – what do you enjoy doing most?
My favorite aspect of any project is the teamwork, and getting to deal with most everyone across the organization as one time or another.

What is the County core value you believe most relates to the work you do, and why?
Doing It Together – Projects that I manage consist of various pieces that range from one or more internal departments, one or more vendors, and one or more departmental staff. To get projects completed, every aspect of the team must succeed for the project to be successful.

What do you like best about working for Catawba County?
I enjoy the challenges that come with the position, and the ever-changing types of projects that I get to oversee.

Where did you grow up?
Grow up? I haven’t just yet! I was, however, born in Hickory, and raised in Icard, NC.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?
Oh, the list goes on and on…

I am an avid fly fisherman. During the winter months, I travel to Tennessee every weekend to fish for those trout in the Watauga and South Holston rivers. Once winter is over, I cannot wait for those mountain waters to warm up and bit, as I turn to fishing for smallmouth bass on the fly. I also tie my own flies for these trips, so there are evenings spent with the fly vise, feathers, and thread making tiny creations to catch the old, big’uns.

As such, I love the mountains that we have here in the state, but I am especially fond of those on the high plains of Montana, Wyoming, and Idaho, and the rivers that carve through them.

I also enjoy riding my motorcycle, especially on the tight, curvy, and mountainous roads that NC has to offer.

I have gotten into disc golfing, usually with my son, but some of the IT folks have joined in at various courses local to the area.

When COVID struck, I needed more to do. I came across some old lumber, so I decided I wanted to try doing some woodcarving. Being that I fish so much, I knew exactly what a fish should look like in my hand, so I started carving fish. In the past 3 years, I have carved lots of trout, bass, and tuna, and been able to highlight my work at some of the best woodcarving shows in the southeastern US.

I am also the drummer in the local rock band, Special Characters. We play rock/indie music from the 70s – 2000s.

Then, because there was still time left in the day, I have taught myself how to play the acoustic guitar, and I have decided that I need to learn Spanish. I spent a little bit of each day practicing both activities. I am never bored! LOL

Favorite movie, TV show, and/or book?
My reading is usually a how-to, and I do not watch anything currently on network TV. Probably my highest television recommendations for now would be “Resident Alien” and “What We Do in the Shadows”.

Favorite musical artist or genre?
I fall back to my 80s & 90s stuff, pretty much anything from that time.

Favorite sports team(s)?
I enjoy football and basketball at all levels. Basketball was the sport I grew up playing most, and have met many good folks associated with the sport. I am definitely a Tarheels fan, and have been for as long as I can remember.

If you could have one superpower, what would it be and why?
Oh, I would fly to save steps getting to the top of the mountain. LOL