Translate:
Translate:

Death Certificates

Will I find my loved one's Death Certificate in Catawba County if they died outside of Catawba County?
No. All deaths are registered in the County and State in which the deceased died.



Who may obtain a Certified Copy of a Death Certificate?
According to NCGS 130A-93(c) & 130A-99 the certificate must be for:
  • Spouse
  • Parent/Step-parent
  • Brother/Sister, Step-brother/sister
  • Child/Step-child/Grandchild
  • Grandparent
  • Funeral Services Director/licensee
  • Any person seeking information for legal determination of personal/property right (proof required)
  • An authorized agent, attorney, or legal representative of the applicant (proof required)



What are the acceptable forms of identification?
  • Driver's License with Photograph
  • State issued Identification Card
  • Passport
  • Military Identification Card with photograph
  • Agents, attorneys or legal representatives must also furnish documentation of authority in order to receive a certified certificate for an individual.



What is the cost of a Death Certificate?
Certificates are $10.00 per certified copy. Uncertified copies are $0.50 if you come into the office or $1.00 by mail payable through money orders made payable to the Catawba County Register of Deeds. Uncertified copies of all vital records are open to public inspection. Cash or debit cards are accepted when a request is made in person.



How can I obtain a Death Certificate?

BY ON LINE REQUEST:
Click here and follow the instructions to submit and pay by major credit/debit cards for a Death Record Request online.

  • For the protection of the record you are requesting YOU MUST download, email or fax a LEGIBLE copy of your ID or you will be DENIED if requesting a certified copy
  • You will be REQUIRED to do of the above with your ID before your request will be processed so please make sure to follow instructions all the way through until this has been completed if requesting a certified copy.
  • You pay online, BUT your request will be mailed out via regular mail to the address the REQUESTOR which meets North Carolina statute requirements.
  • Fees for Certified copies are $10.00 each and REQUIRES an ID.
  • Fee for Uncertified copies are $1.00 each.
  • Additional fees will apply and are noted by Courthouse Computer Systems.



BY MAIL:
  • Submit a written request to include:
  • full name of the person named on the certificate
  • date of death
  • you may go online for an electronic format that can be printed and filled in
    or completed on line and printed, click here.


You have the option to complete the form online before printing a hard copy of print the blank form and complete by hand; be sure to complete the REQUIRED section. We must have the requestor's signature and relationship to the person named on the certificate whether on our application or by written request. Include a copy of your picture ID and send a self addressed stamped envelope. Only immediate family members may request death certificates. See the above list.

IN PERSON:



 

Bookmark and ShareShare Page    Rate Page    Email Page    Print Page

© 2009, Catawba County Government, North Carolina. All rights reserved.
Disclaimer   •   Privacy/Security Notice