Contact Information

  • Randy Willis, District Administrator
  • (828) 465-8950
  • Contact via email
  • Main Location:1175 S Brady Ave, Suite 302 Newton, NC 28658

Soil & Water Conservation District


The Catawba Soil and Water Conservation District's mission is to ensure a quality urban and rural environment with clean water, protected soil resources, properly managed forest and wildlife, and an environmentally, economically and culturally viable agricultural community.

We work with state, federal, and local agencies such as the North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Carolina Land and Lake Resources Conservation and Development, Division of Water Quality, Corp of Engineers, NC Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Farm Service Agency, NC Cooperative Extension, NC Forest Service, etc., on natural resource concerns.

Randy Willis
District Administrator
rwillis@catawbacountync.gov
(828) 465-8950

Blake Henley
Soil Conservation Technician
blakehenley@catawbacountync.gov
(828) 465-8950

Leia Hamlyn
Education Coordinator
lhamlyn@catawbacountync.gov
(828) 465-8950

Julia Elmore
Claremont, NC
julz91@embarqmail.com
(828) 302-4954
Elected

Susie Devine
Newton, NC
devine5farm@bellsouth.net
(828) 461-2012
Appointed

Laura Parnell
Hickory, NC
hickoryparnell@gmail.com
(828) 302-0448
Elected

David Caldwell
Sherrills Ford, NC
davidhoylecaldwell3020@yahoo.com
(828) 244-4116
Elected

Steve Killian
Hickory, NC
skillian@embarqmail.com
(828) 256-9142
Appointed

Jim Propst
jim.propst@nc.usda.gov
(828) 464-1382

Julius Johnson
julius.johnson@nc.usda.gov
(828) 464-1382