Assumed Names

The Register of Deeds office DOES NOT have forms for filing of any Assumed Name. We only handle the filing of such documents which consist of sole proprietorships, partnerships, and corporations doing business under an Assumed Name. North Carolina statutes state the one must file an Assumed Name prior to engaging business in any county within the State if such business is going to be conducted under an Assumed name. Below you will find ONLY a guideline - additional forms may be required.

  • North Carolina Business Service Center - BLNC
    (800)228-8443
  • CVCC Small Business Center
    (828)327-7000, ext. 4102 or 4117
  • Local ligrary for access to internet (Library Main is located at 115 West C Street, Newton NC)
  • For a webinar on YouTube search WEBINAR – ASSUMED BUSINESS NAME ( https://youtu.be/b-bGbcIg7UQ )

If you are in the city limits check with the city or town for required filings

  • Newton - (828)695-4300
  • Hickory - (828)323-7581
  • County tax office for privilege license (828)465-8414 www.catawbacountync.gov/Tax/PrivilegeLicense.pdf
  • NC Department of Revenue for tax infomration and ID# (828)327-7474
  • Inernal Revenue for federal tax information and ID# (828)345-1033
  • ABC will require a county privilege that is obtained after getting permits
  1. Each must meet the NC Standard Document Criteria NCGS §161-14.
  2. Fees
    1. $26 for first 15 pages
    2. $ 4 for each additional page