Who may obtain a Certified Copy of a Birth Certificate?
According to NCGS 130A-93(c) & 130A-99 the certificate must be for:
Funeral Services Director/licensee
Any person seeking information for legal determination of personal/property right (proof required)
An authorized agent, attorney, or legal representative of the applicant (proof required)
What are the acceptable forms of identification?
A Drivers License with photograph
State issued Identification Card
Military Identification Card with photograph
Agents, attorneys or legal representatives must also furnish documentation of authority in order to receive a certified certificate for an individual
What is the cost of a Birth Certificate?
Certificates are $10.00 per certified copy. Uncertified copies are $0.50 if you come into the office or $1.00 by mail payable through money orders made payable to the Catawba County Register of Deeds. Uncertified copies of all vital records are open to public inspection. Cash or debit cards are accepted when a request is made in person.
How can I obtain a Birth Certificate?
BY ON LINE REQUEST: Click here and follow the instructions to submit and pay by major credit/debit cards for a Birth Record Request online.
For the protection of the record you are requesting YOU MUST download, email or fax a LEGIBLE copy of your ID or you will be DENIED if requesting a certified copy
You will be REQUIRED to do one of the above with your ID before your request will be processed so please make sure to follow instructions all the way through until this has been completed if requesting a certified copy.
You pay online, BUT your request will be mailed out via regular mail to of the address of the REQUESTOR which meets North Carolina statute requirements.
Fees for Certified copies are $10.00 each REQUIRES an ID
Fee for Uncertified copies are $1.00 each.
Additional fees will apply and are noted by Courthouse Computer Systems
Submit a written request to include:
Full name of the person named on the certificate
the date of birth
Father/parent's full name
Mother/parent's full maiden names; or
you may go online for an electronic format that can be printed and filled in
or completed on line and printed, click here.
For a form to request up to three birth certificates, click here. This form can
be printed and filled in or completed on line and printed.
For a form to request a birth that occured in North Carolina since 1971 for a fee of $24, click here
You have the option to complete the form online before printing a hard copy or print the blank form and complete by hand; be sure to complete the REQUIRED section.
We must have the requestor's signature and relationship to the person named on the certificate whether on our application or by written request. Include a copy of
your picture ID and send a self addressed stamped envelope. Only the person named on the birth certificate or immediate family members may request birth certificates.
See the above list.
You can use the above mentioned form or fill out one upon arrival and present a valid picture ID.
If I was born in Catawba County and adopted, is my original birth record available in Catawba County?
No. North Carolina law prohibits public inspection of any adoption records, including original birth records. You will need to contact the NC Department of Health & Human Services at (919) 733-3526 or http://vitalrecords.nc.gov
Where are Birth Certificates recorded? All Birth Certificates are registered in the County and State in which the birth took place and as of now, they will always remain there.
What if a Birth Certificate was never filed or filed incorrectly, what should I do?
Visit the Register of Deeds office in order to acquire the necessary information needed to complete a Delayed Birth Certificate form or to make a correction on an existing birth certificate. You must provide proof of the birth. The most acceptable proof would be a copy of your elementary school records. A call to our office will help you in gathering all required information needed. The fee is $20.00 for a Delayed Birth Certificate and $35.00 for an Amendment Form. It will take 8-12 weeks to process the request at the State Office in Raleigh. However, you may pay an additional charge of $15.00 to the Office of Vital Records to have this process expedited in a three week time period. Note: Only the individual in question can apply for a Delayed Birth Certificate.
What should I do if a parent's name is missing on the Birth Certificate?
There are many different ways to correct this problem. Visit or call our office and explain why or how this happened. We might be able to help, but if not, we will inform you to contact an attorney for further assistance. Note:Only the individual in question that is 18 years and older, or the parent/guardian of the applicant can amend a birth record.