NC General Statute 66-68 requires that “before any person or partnership engages in business in any county in this State under an assumed name or under any designation, name or style other than the real name of the owner or owners thereof, before any limited partnership engaged in business in any county in this State other than under the name set out in the Certificate filed with the Office of the Secretary of State or before a corporation engages in business in any county other than under its corporate name, such person, partnership, limited partnership, or corporation must file in the office of the register of deeds of such county a certificate....”.
The Register of Deeds office DOES NOT have forms for a filing of any Assumed Name. We only handle the filings for sole proprietorships, partnerships, and corporations doing business under an assumed name. For more information please contact the North Carolina Department of Commerce at (800)228-8443 or your Community College’s Small Business department on this process and how to incorporate your business. (see Links on left hand side)
BEFORE FILING the “Doing Business As” (dba) or Assumed Name certificate, you should perform a name search to determine if the proposed business name has already been filed. Our office cannot perform the name search for you, but will be happy to assist you with the name search.
The fee for recording the notarized Assumed Name is $26.00 for the first 15 pages and $4.00 for each additional page. You may be hand-delivered or mailed for recording. You MUST also comply with North Carolina recording standards as stated in G.S 161-14, click here to view those requirements. If an instrument does not meet these requirements, the Register of Deeds shall register the instrument after collecting a $25.00 nonstandard document fee as required by G.S. 161-10(a)(19) in addition to all other applicable recording fees. This office uses the standard Time New Roman font.