
Heavy Equipment Tax 
Effective January 1, 2009, North Carolina General Statutes designated 
heavy equipment on which a gross receipts tax may be imposed, a special 
class of property. The classification refers to heavy equipment that is 
offered at retail for short-term lease or rental and is owned or leased by a 
person (company) engaged in the business of leasing or renting heavy 
equipment to the general public. 

(View North Carolina General Statutes: 105-275(42), 153A-156.1, 160A-215.2)  

 
A Heavy Equipment Tax Application must be submitted to determine if you 
qualify for this tax.  This application is an annual requirement that must be 
filed by January 31st. Mail completed application to: 
 Catawba County Tax Office 
 Business Personal Property Department 
 P.O. Box 368 
 Newton, NC  28658-0368 
 
For assistance in completing an application or questions regarding the 
Heavy Equipment Tax please call the Catawba County Tax Department at 
828-465-8406. 
Once an annual application has been approved, you may obtain the Gross 
Receipts Tax Return form by clicking on the link below or calling our office 
to have one mailed to you. 
 

• A report must be filed each quarter on or before the last business day 
of the month following the quarter in which the tax accrues (quarters 
end on March 31, June 30, September 30 and December 31). 

• Reports must be received in the Catawba County Finance 
Department or postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service by the last 
business day of the month following the month in which the tax 
accrues. Metered mail is considered to be received as of the date the 
remittance is received. 

• The tax shown to be due must be paid with the report or penalties will 
be charged. See NCGS 105.236 for information regarding penalties. 

http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/statutes/statutelookup.pl?statute=105-275
http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/statutes/statutelookup.pl?statute=153A-156.1
http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/statutes/statutelookup.pl?statute=160A-215.2
http://www.wakegov.com/tax/business/Documents/Gross%20Recs%20Forms/Heavy%20Equipment%20Application.pdf


• Payments should be remitted by check or money order made payable 
to Catawba County. One check for all locations will be accepted; 
however, a separate report for each location must be filed. 

• If you do not owe any tax for a quarter, you must file a report showing 
"No Tax Due." 

• As provided in NCGS 160A-208.1, a return filed with the Catawba 
County Finance Department shall not be considered a public record, 
and information contained in a return may not be disclosed except as 
required by law. 

Heavy Equipment FAQ 

What does this special classification mean? 
A business having heavy equipment on which a gross receipts tax may 
be imposed does not have to annually report said equipment for business 
personal property taxation; however, the business may be required to 
charge a Heavy Equipment Gross Receipts Tax on the rental or lease of 
said equipment. 
 
How does a business qualify? 
To qualify as a principal business of short-term lease or rental, more than 
50% of the company's income must be derived from the rental of qualified 
heavy equipment. For example, if the total company receipts from all 
sources are $1,000,000 and the receipts from the rental of qualified heavy 
equipment are $450,000; a business would not qualify. 
 

What is considered qualified heavy equipment? 
Earthmoving, construction or industrial equipment that is mobile, weighs at 
least 1,500 pounds, and meets any of the descriptions listed below. The 
term includes an attachment for heavy equipment, regardless of the weight 
of the attachment. 

• It is a self-propelled vehicle that is not designed to be driven on a 
highway. 

• It is industrial lift equipment, industrial material-handling 
equipment, industrial electrical-generation equipment, or a similar 
piece of industrial equipment. 

 



My business qualifies to impose a heavy equipment tax. What do I 
need to do? 
If your business meets the requirements to impose the tax and is located in 
the taxing jurisdiction of the County of Catawba, you are required to 
charge a Heavy Equipment Gross Receipts Tax. Businesses that qualify 
to charge the Heavy Equipment Gross Receipts Tax are not required to list 
the equipment on their Business Property Tax Listing form for the same 
period as the tax is charged; however, you are required to list other 
remaining taxable business property such as furniture, fixtures, computers, 
etc. 

My business does not qualify to impose the tax. What do I need to 
do? 
You must annually list your heavy rental equipment and other taxable 
property for business personal property taxation. 

What should I do if I am required to charge the tax? 
If you are required to charge the tax, you must submit an annual Heavy 
Equipment Gross Receipts Tax Application with the Catawba County Tax 
Department for acceptance into this group. Once your application is 
processed and approved, you may obtain the Gross Receipts Tax Return 
form by clicking the link below or calling our office to have one mailed to 
you.  Taxes are to be remitted on a quarterly basis to: 

Catawba County Finance Department 
P.O. Box 389 
Newton, NC  28658-0389 

Who should I contact for additional assistance? 
Contact the Business Personal Property Department at 828-465-8406. 

 CLICK HERE FOR     CLICK HERE FOR 

Heavy Equipment Tax Application Heavy Equipment Gross Receipts Tax Return 

http://www.wakegov.com/tax/business/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.wakegov.com/tax/business/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.wakegov.com/tax/business/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.wakegov.com/tax/business/Documents/Gross%20Recs%20Forms/Heavy%20Equipment%20Application.pdf
http://www.wakegov.com/tax/business/Documents/Gross%20Recs%20Forms/Heavy%20Equipment%20Application.pdf
http://www.catawbacountync.gov/tax/heavy-equipment-gross-receipts-application.pdf
http://www.catawbacountync.gov/tax/heavy-equipment-gross-receipts-tax-return.pdf



