County government facilities and libraries are closed Thurs., November 26 and Fri., November 27 for the Thanksgiving holiday. County parks will reopen Friday, November 27 through the weekend. Visit here for landfill and convenience center holiday hours.

Current List of Candidates

2020 Elections

  • If more candidates of the same party file for office than there are seats avaialable for that office, the party will hold a primary election March 3rd. The winners of that party will advance to the November 3rd general election to represent their party on the ballot.
  • Seventeen-year-olds may vote in the March Primary if they will turn 18-years-old on or before November 3, 2019.

Candidate List - Full list of candidates for Catawba County (updated 7/6/2020)
Note: Presidential candidates are not official until after their party's conventions.

November General Election

The General Election will be held Tuesday, November 3rd, 2020. Polls are open 6:30 am to 7:30 pm.



Partisan Races

US President/Vice President
(1 seat)

  • Donald J. Trump (Republican)
    Michael R. Pence
  • Joseph R. Biden (Democrat)
    Kamala D. Harris
  • Don Blankenship (Constitution)
    William Mohr
  • Howie Hawkins (Green)
    Angela Walker
  • Jo Jorgensen (Libertarian)
    Jeremy (Spike) Cohen

US Senate
(1 seat)

  • Thom Tillis (Rep)
  • Shannon W. Bray (Lib)
  • Cal Cunningham (Dem)
  • Kevin E. Hayes (Cst)

US House of Representatives
District 5

(1 seat)

  • David Wilson Brown (Dem)
  • Virginia Foxx (Rep)
  • Jeff Gregory (Cst)

US House of Representatives
District 10

(1 seat)

  • David Parker (Dem)
  • Patrick McHenry (Rep)

NC Governor
(1 seat)

  • Al Pisano (Cst)
  • Roy Cooper (Dem)
  • Steven J. DiFiore (Lib)
  • Dan Forest (Rep)

NC Lieutenant Governor
(1 seat)

  • Mark Robinson (Rep)
  • Yvonne Lewis Holley (Dem)

NC Attorney General
(1 seat)

  • Jim O'Neill (Rep)
  • Josh Stein (Dem)

NC Auditor
(1 seat)

  • Anthony Wayne (Tony) Street (Rep)
  • Beth A. Wood (Dem)

NC Commissioner of Agriculture
(1 seat)

  • Steve Troxler (Rep)
  • Jenna Wadsworth (Dem)

NC Commissioner of Insurance
(1 seat)

  • Mike Causey (Rep)
  • Wayne Goodwin (Dem)

NC Commissioner of Labor
(1 seat)

  • Josh Dobson (Rep)
  • Jessica Holmes (Dem)

NC Secretary of State
(1 seat)

  • E.C. Sykes (Rep)
  • Elaine Marshall (Dem)

NC Superintendent of Public Instruction
(1 seat)

  • Catherine Truitt (Rep)
  • Jen Mangrum (Dem)

NC Treasurer
(1 seat)

  • Ronnie Chatterji (Dem)
  • Dale R. Folwell (Rep)

NC Supreme Court Chief Justice Seat 01
(1 seat)

  • Cheri Beasley (Dem)
  • Paul Newby (Rep)

NC Supreme Court Associate Justice Seat 02
(1 seat)

  • Phil Berger, Jr. (Rep)
  • Lucy Inman (Dem)

NC Supreme Court Associate Justice Seat 04
(1 seat)

  • Tamara Barringer (Rep)
  • Mark Davis (Dem)

NC Court of Appeals Judge Seat 04
(1 seat)

  • Tricia Shields (Dem)
  • April C. Wood (Rep)

NC Court of Appeals Judge Seat 05
(1 seat)

  • Lora Christine Cubbage (Dem)
  • Fred Gore (Rep)

NC Court of Appeals Judge Seat 06
(1 seat)

  • Gray Styers (Dem)
  • Chris Dillon (Rep)

NC Court of Appeals Judge Seat 07
(1 seat)

  • Reuben F. Young (Dem)
  • Jeff Carpenter (Rep)

NC Court of Appeals Judge Seat 13
(1 seat)

  • Chris Brook (Dem)
  • Jefferson G. Griffin (Rep)

NC State Senate District 42
(1 seat)

  • H. Dean Proctor (Rep)
  • Tina R. Miles (Dem)

NC House of Representatives District 089
(1 seat)

  • Mitchell Smith Setzer (Rep)
  • Greg Cranford (Dem)

NC House of Representatives District 096
(1 seat)

  • Jay Adams (Rep)
  • Kim Bost (Dem)

NC District Court Judge District 25 Seat 08
(1 seat)

  • Burford A. Cherry (Rep)

NC District Court Judge District 25 Seat 09
(1 seat)

  • Richard S. Holloway (Rep)

NC District Court Judge District 25 Seat 10
(1 seat)

  • Andrea Chiz Plyler (Rep)

Catawba County Board of Commissioners
(2 seats)

  • Gabriel Sherwood (Dem)
  • Jerome Simpkins (Dem)
  • Austin Allran (Rep)
  • Barbara Gale Beatty (Rep)

Catawba County Register of Deeds
(1 seat)

  • Donna Hicks Spencer (Rep)

Non-Partisan Races

Catawba County School Board
(3 seats)

  • Annette Young Richards
  • Jeff Taylor
  • Michael Wyant
  • Ronn Abernathy
  • Gavin Joshua Gabriel
  • Tracy Myers
  • Michael M. Nash

Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisor
(1 seat)

  • Joseph Williamson
  • David Caldwell
  • Jonathan Moretz
Note: Candidates are ordered alphabetically starting with the letter "O"

To see Campaign Committee Reports filed in Catawba County, enter the year below

SBOE Reports - Search campaign committee financial reports filed with North Carolina State Board of Elections