WHAT SERVICES ARE AVAILABLE?
Child Support Services can help you locate a non-supporting parent, help you get a legal child support order and help you collect child support payments. We will use local, state and federal sources to find a parent who has a financial obligation to support his/her children.
We can also help establish paternity. “Paternity” means fatherhood. Establishing paternity is necessary only when the mother is not married to the father of the child. In that case, paternity must be legally determined before there can be a legal child support order.
WHAT IS CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES?
Child Support Services is a nationwide program
established by Congress in 1975 to ensure that both parents support their children to the
extent of their ability. In Catawba county the program is administered by Social Services.
The federal legislation mandating the Child Support Program is Title IV-D of the Social
Security Act. Sometimes, the program is called the IV-D (4-D) program.
A change in the law, generated by legislation, takes the enforcement duties found at
G.S.chapter 50-13.9 away from the Clerks of Superior Court. Effective January 1, 2007 the
Clerks of Superior Court throughout the State of North Carolina will no longer have the
duty or obligation to provide enforcement for child support cases. This reduces the
child's caretaker to three choices in the enforcement of child support: 1) to act pro se;
2)to hire counsel; or 3) to contract with child support enforcement.
WHERE DO I GO?
Catawba County Child Support Enforcement is located at 3030 11th Avenue Drive S.E.
Hickory, North Carolina 28602. (This is behind Catawba Valley Medical Center off Fairgrove
Church Road.) The mailing address is Post Office Box 669, Newton, North Carolina 28658.The
phone number is (828) 695-4405.
WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR
Services can be provided to any North Carolina parent or custodian regardless of income
level. Individuals receiving Work First Family Assistance and Medicaid are automatically
referred to the local child support enforcement agency. Persons receiving public
assistance are required to cooperate with child support enforcement as a condition of
their eligibility for assistance. Persons not receiving public assistance may apply for
and receive child support services upon the payment of a $10.00 or $25.00 application fee,
based on income guidelines from the Federal Register. This includes aunts, uncles,
grandparents, court-appointed guardians, or others who are caring for a child.