Click to go to Catawba County Home Page
Quick Links
School Resource Officers

School Resource Officers

Lt John Helton
Contact:
Lt John Helton
Phone: (828) 465-8336

Google Map
100 Government Drive
Newton, NC 28658


Mailing Address:
Post Office Box 385
Newton, NC 28658

Office Hours:
Mon - Fri, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Translate:

Each of the Middle Schools and High Schools in the Catawba County School System has a Deputy Sheriff assigned as a School Resource Officer. There are also three deputies assigned as School Resource Officers at Catawba Valley Community College, which includes Challenger High School.

The School Resource Officer program has been very successful. The students see the deputies as someone who they can befriend and go to for guidance. A positive relationship with a school resource officer has shown to have a positive effect on a child’s perception of safety at school. The one-on-one relationship between students and officers allows them to solve problems before those problems grow out of control.

In a research study conducted by Captain Fish in 2011, school administrators and resource officers both felt that deputies served as mentors or counselors foremost. Students felt that the deputies were more approachable, because they were in the halls and lunchroom with them. Students associated guidance counselors as part of the school administration, and they are not as likely to go to the office.

If you would like more information, or programs offered by the School Resource Officers, you may call Captain Reid at 828-465-8345 or LT. John Helton at 828-465-8336.

The School Resource Officers are assigned as follows:
Bandys High School
Deputy Marcus Miller
mmiller@catawbacountync.gov
828-241-3171
Bunker Hill High School
Deputy Butch Cloningerr
bcloninger@catawbacountync.gov
828-241-3355
Fred T Foard High School
Deputy Jody Grindstaff
jgrindstaff@catawbacountync.gov
704-462-1496
Maiden High School
Deputy Eric Page
epage@catawbacountync.gov
828-428-8197
St. Stephens High School
Deputy Dale Lail
dlail@catawbacountync.gov
828-256-9841
Catawba Rosenwald Education Center
Deputy J D Slape
jslape@catawbacountync.gov
828-241-2734
H M Arndt middle School
Deputy Trent Davis
tdavis@catawbacountync.gov
828-256-9545
Jacobs Fork Middle School
Deputy Tommy Scarborough
tscarborough@catawbacountync.gov
704-462-1827
Maiden Middle School
Deputy Amber Morris
amorris@catawbacountync.gov
828-428-2326
Mill Creek Middle School
Deputy David Fox
dfox@catawbacountync.gov
828-241-2711
Riverbend Middle School
Deputy Victor Morales
vmorales@catawbacountync.gov
828-241-2754
Catawba Valley Community College
Deputy Chris Mills
cmills@catawbacountync.gov
828-327-7000 ext 4910

Deputy Shawn Goodnight
sgoodnight@catawbacountync.gov
828-327-7000 ext 4300

Sergeant Bryon Hollar
bhollar@catawbacountync.gov
828-327-7000 ext 4676