Click to go to Catawba County Home Page
Quick Links

Criminal Investigation Division

and Contact Information
Captain Brian Kelly

Contact: Captain Brian Kelly
Phone: (828) 465-8349

Google Map
100 Government Drive
Newton, NC 28658

Mailing Address:
Post Office Box 385
Newton, NC 28658

Office Hours:
Mon - Fri, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.


The Criminal Investigations Division is responsible for investigating all general crimes and special victim’s cases. The Division has eight general crime investigators, three special victim’s unit investigators, one deputy in charge of monitoring sex offenders, and two crime scene investigators. The investigators work with various local, state, and federal agencies to solve crimes.

Captain Brian Kelly is the division commander over criminal investigations. Captain Kelly presides over the professional standards of the department also.

Lieutenant David Eckard is the supervisor over the general investigators. Lt. Eckard is a member of the S.T.A.R team. Lt. Eckard supervises four general investigators who work any major crimes and professional standards. Sgt. Penley and Inv. Hoyle investigator work the Fred T. Foard area of our county. Sgt. Penley has a satellite office at the Propst EMS Base on Hwy 127S. Investigator Stacey Huffman and Investigator Brandon Styers work the St. Stephens and Bunker Hill areas of Catawba County.

Lieutenant Nathan Fisher is the supervisor over the crime scene investigations division and the special victim’s investigators. Sgt. Rick Younger, Sgt. Russ Boger, and Inv. Kristy Towery work the special victim’s unit at the sheriff’s office. They are responsible for working all sex crimes and crimes against children. Sgt. Kent Brown works with Lt. Fisher as a crime scene investigator. This section is in charge of the organization, security, maintenance, and disposition of all property and evidence collected by the Sheriff’s Office. Lt. Fisher also supervises our administrative assistant, Jenny Brown.

Lieutenant Aaron Turk is the supervisor over the Terrell deputies and lake patrol division of the Sheriff’s Office. Sgt. Tyler Whisenant works with Lt. Turk as an investigator for the Bandy’s and Lake Norman area of Catawba County. There are two deputies that are assigned to the Terrell area. This division also has two lake patrol deputies that patrol Lake Norman.

Deputy Darrin Lackey is in charge of maintaining records and knowing the whereabouts of all registered sex offenders that reside in Catawba County.

  Click below to email:  
Capt Brian Kelly Brian Kelly 828-465-8349
Lt. Aaron Turk Aaron Turk 828-465-8348
Inv. Stacy Huffman Stacy Huffman 828-465-8342
Lt. David Eckard David Eckard 828-465-8346
Sgt. Inv. Kerry Penley Kerry Penley 828-465-8344
Lt. Nathan Fisher Nathan Fisher 828-465-8343
Inv. James Styers James Styers 828-465-8341
Inv. Russell Boger Russell Boger 828-466-7246
Inv. Michael Hoyle Michael Hoyle 828-466-7246
Sgt. Inv. Kent Brown Kent Brown 828-466-7228
Sgt. Inv. Tyler Whisenant Tyler Whisenant 828-464-5241
Sgt. Inv. Rick Younger Rick Younger 828-465-8347
Dep Walt Kisby Walt Kisby 828-465-0671
Dep Darrin Lackey Darrin Lackey 828-465-7974
Inv. Kristy Towery Kristy Towery 828-465-9466